Peanut Butter and Chocolate Pretzel Balls: Recipe for a Healthy Treat / Dessert

Dear reader,

Even if this is your first time stopping by, a quick look around will leave you with the right impression that I’m the ultimate sweets-lover. My infamous sweet tooth has never been a source of shame; if anything, it’s always been taken for granted. For years and years, I’ve contently eaten many a dessert on the basis that I simply love them. And I do! Immensely. When you starve yourself, though, yet eat sweets considerably often, you end up overindulging in sweets. Perhaps, my sweet tooth isn’t as huge as I once thought; perhaps, my sweet tooth was, in fact, hunger.

Since I’ve prioritised health and fitness, and become an active person, I’ve perceived a palpably diminished appetite for sugar. It’s still there but it’s – for the most part – under control. Of course, on treat days I..treat. I won’t deprive myself of treats. This isn’t healthy. It’s obsessive. On the whole, however, I’ve been able to contain my cravings and choose healthy alternatives. And that was unthinkable when I was a teenager.

In the spirit of healthy alternatives, I’m sharing a healthy snack / dessert recipe with you today. I stumbled upon it a few weeks ago and have been meaning to try it ever since. It’s from Skinny Mom and, while I don’t strive to be skinny and I’m not a mum, their recipes are voluminous and versatile. They advertise health by including sections on fitness, food information, etc.

For your Peanut Butter and Chocolate Pretzel Bites, you’ll need…

  • 1 cup old – fashioned oats (granola was alright)
  • ¼ cup Peanut Butter (in this instance, I added more; it was possibly due to the granola being crumbly)
  • 1 Tbsp honey (I should have used two)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 40 unsalted mini pretzels (mine were slightly salted)
  • 4 tsp dark chocolate chips (I didn’t have chips at my disposal; hence, I substituted them with dark chocolate; four pieces, to be precise, but you’re welcome to improvise)
  • ½ tsp water (again, I found myself reaching for a top-up)

To prepare your Peanut Butter and Chocolate Pretzel Bites, you need to…

  • Mix together the oats, the honey, the peanut butter and the vanilla extract; set the bowl aside.
  • Grab ten of your 40 pretzels and turn them into powder with the help of a food processor / blender; place in a plate and set aside.
  • The remaining 30 pretzels should also be pulsed but ensure that they aren’t totally shredded. You should aim for around 6mm / a quarter of an inch pieces. Once done, add your oats / honey / peanut butter / vanilla mixture and do about five short pulses; the consistency shouldn’t be too runny, otherwise you won’t be able to roll your..balls. Put the mixture back in the bowl.
  • Have your baking tray at the ready. You can either scoop out as much mixture as you wish, or utilise a tea spoon to assist you. A tea spoon of the mixture produced tiny balls, so I decided to make them bigger. Roll the mixture into a ball. Place the ball into the pretzel powder until it’s coated consistently and then transfer to your baking tray. Repeat until you run out of mixture!
  • Melt your dark chocolate (chips); a microwave or your stove will do. The water will increase the fluidity of the chocolate and you’ll drizzle it over the balls easily. Keep adding water, if you have to. For I didn’t have a suitable pastry bag, I drizzled it by means of a tea spoon. They don’t look as pretty but they taste great!
  • Freeze for 15-20 minutes. You can either continue storing them in the freezer, or move them to your fridge. Mine are doing just fine in the latter.                                                                     IMG_7218 photo (5) photo (7) photo (8)
Leave a Reply

